Hero = Disciple

We had a good message this past Sunday about heros, and I thought I would share. How would you respond if you were asked, “Who is your hero?” or “What is your definition of a hero?” I’m sure there would be a variety of answers. Anything from professional athletes, singers, to actors, or models..etc. If I was asked this question as a kid, I would probably respond with, Dominique Wilkins (professional basketball player from the 90’s). My dream as a kid was to play in the NBA, and as I grew up I got into surfing. At that point in life I would have said my hero was Kelly Slater (11x world champion surfer).

Today, I am still obsessed with surfing as much as the day I started. Although, I wouldn’t necessarily say Kelly Slater is my hero (although he is one bad rippa!). A hero in my eyes is someone who uses their God given talents to bring others closer in their relationship with Jesus.

Our pastor gave characteristics of a hero:

“Hero = Disciple

A hero takes the initiative and stands in the gap for others

A hero isn’t afraid of sacrifice

A hero makes a lasting impact

A hero is made by Jesus”

All too often I get caught up in the hustle and stress of this world and I need to constantly remind myself of God’s love for us, and how we need to share this love with others no matter our situation. We need to be heros (disciples) for others and take action for people in need.

“Heros/disciples move from “someone should help that person” to “I should help that person””

“We need to be a church of hero/disciples to take leaps to help people in need”

While the message was not so much about idolatry, I was drawn to this scripture:

“You shall have no other gods before me. “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. You shall not bow down to them or serve them, for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and the fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments. Exodus 20:3-6

So my friends, I encourage you all to be that person willing to give a hand and help a brother/sister in need!

Matthew 28:19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

Kelly Slater, 11x world champ (Photo: Morgan Maassen)
tumblr_miuyy2Xcpa1qhenlzo1_500

Leave a Reply

