Confidence

Confidence is something that we all struggle with at times. Due to our past failures, insecurities and what our world today tells us is good/cool/beneficial through media, we somehow talk ourselves into thinking that we aren’t capable or qualified in a certain area(s). It can effect us to the point that we may start to think we don’t have much to offer. Something crucial to understand is that Satan wants us to feel poorly about ourselves, and is in thoughts like “you can’t do that”, “what if it goes terribly wrong”, “they wont like you anymore”, “people wont think you’re cool”. There are so many self help books and magazines telling us how to live our lives that people are becoming robotic in their interactions with people. Expecting very specific results and afraid to mess up. We are told that we can rely on ourselves for everything. That if we aren’t seeing the desired results, to try this, and try this, or try that. That we as individuals have all of the control.

Our confidence is going to suffer when things don’t run according to OUR plan, and we tend to put the blame on ourselves for failures and disappointments. When this happens time after time you will find this person broken and feeling badly about him/herself. Exactly where Satan wants him.

In Exodus 4:10, Moses confesses to God his lack of confidence in public speaking, and his fear in sharing his faith in front of others. He says, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.” The New Living Translation interprets it as, “”O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.” How many of us can relate to this? Talking to a girl/boy for the first time, sitting down for a job interview that you desperately want, public speaking or trying to comfort somebody with words and not knowing what to say. After Moses expressed his fear, the Lord said to him “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say”.

Ask God for guidance and confidence in something that you are anxious or afraid of today. He will provide you with words to say, if you ask and seek. Whatever the outcome, pray that HIS will be done. If it doesn’t go according to YOUR plan, thats okay. If you bomb a speech, or cannot find the words to say at an opportune moment, that’s okay. Perhaps he has other plans for you, other people to meet, and lessons to be lived and learned. If you pray that HIS will be done, have confidence that his way is the best way no matter how the outcome initially appears.

HEBREWS 13:6 – So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?”

2 CORINTHIANS 12:9 – But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Leave a Reply

