Keep praying for Jay


A couple of weeks ago I posted about my friend Jay who was involved in a motor vehicle accident in Hawaii a couple months ago. He is doing well considering what he has gone through! I spoke with him on the phone the other day was so stoked to hear how positive he was and how good he sounded. His “thank you for this day” has a new meaning of great significance, and he feels very blessed to be living. He talked about saying yes to a lot of things that he wouldn’t have in the past because of fear. I could really relate to this as I’m sure you can as well.

He said a quote that I thought was really profound, so I asked him if he could share it again because I had forgotten. He responded with this, “God has really been speaking to me about enjoying life every day. Listening to his quiet voice instructing us to do or not do things and drowning out the loud voices of fear, insecurity, and doubt. We are to never let fear mold us into the person we will regret becoming. And we must think hard about these masks we put on, and begin taking the steps to replace them with a heart we can be proud of.”

What struck me was “We are never to let fear mold us into the person we will regret becoming”. If you can get your head around that one it will slap you in the face! Awesome. I don’t know if he made that up himself and is the next great Max Lucado, but that’s beside the point. It blessed me, and reminded me of how much of an impact fear can play in our lives if we let it.

Here are what some of the scriptures say about fear:

Isaiah 41:13
For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

God does not say “fear a little bit less”, or “be a little bit more courageous”. He says do not fear. Lets try to eliminate the fear of what other people think, the fear that we don’t look good enough, think smart enough, the fear of failure, the fear of lack of control, or the fear that our lives are not turning out the way that WE want them to go. Lets leave these up to God, he can carry these fears for you.

Thank you for your prayers, and please continue to pray for Jay. He still has swelling and bleeding from the skull fracture, and is having difficulty with short term memory, taste and smell. Lets pray big prayers! Love you Jay boy!

Here is a song that is keeping his stoke alive:

Leave a Reply

